12 Life Disciplines

Over the years I have grown to love the benefits derived from strong discipline, not only in the realm of physical training but in other areas too. I realise, not only from experiences in my own life, but by observing the lives of those around me, that these guiding principles, protect us from the consequences of a life without borders.

” He that has no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls.” [Proverb 25:28]

I have spent some time today reflecting on a few things that have happened in my little world over the last few days, the kind of life I want and how easy it is to get off track when you don’t have strong guidelines or disciplines in place. I am actually quite pleased these things happened because they have really made me stop & think, take stock, make some tweaks and move forward! Everything in life can be a stepping stone if we allow it!

So this morning I decided to take some time out to meditate on the principles or disciplines that are important to me, those I already practice and some new ones I’d like to incorporate. I have consolidated them down to a list of 12 which I have documented so that I can review them everyday during my Hour of Power and keep my focus on the practices that I wish to become habitual. They may not always be easy to implement and I will be sharing them with friends and family to help me stay accountable, but I know that if I put in the hard yards in the short term, the benefits will far outweigh the costs.

suck it up

Leave a comment